Mitsunobu Koshiba of JSR Corporation to Receive Semi Sales and Marketing Excellence Award

Dec 2, 2019

MILPITAS, CA — December 2, 2019 — SEMI today announced that Mitsunobu (Nobu) Koshiba of JSR Corporation has won the SEMI Sales and Marketing Excellence Award, inspired by Bob Graham, for 2019. The 22nd recipient of the award, Koshiba will be honored for his role in developing and bringing to market multiple photoresist generations that have been critical to the semiconductor industry. He will be recognized during ceremonies at SEMICON Japan 2019, December 11-13, at Tokyo Big Sight in Tokyo.

Photoresist innovations have enabled the continued scaling of semiconductor dimensions and power profiles. Koshiba’s focus on 193nm dry, 193nm immersion and extreme ultraviolet lithography (EUV) resists – all vitally important to JSR Corporation customers –  accelerated their development. He served as a key bridge between JSR Corporation’s research and development initiatives and its customers in aligning the company with their needs. Koshiba also led the important pivot from 157nm to 193nm immersion.

“SEMI is proud and grateful to count Mitsunobu Koshiba among our most inspirational and progressive industry leaders,” said Ajit Manocha, president and CEO of SEMI. “His vision, resolve and innovative spirit have been instrumental in advancing our industry. Today, SEMI and its membership honor Koshiba-san for his major contributions to semiconductor manufacturing."The SEMI Sales and Marketing Excellence Award was inspired by the late Bob Graham, the distinguished semiconductor industry leader, who was a member of the founding team of Intel. Graham also helped establish industry-leading companies such as Applied Materials and Novellus Systems.

The award was established to honor individuals for the creation and/or implementation of marketing programs that enhance customer satisfaction and further the growth of the semiconductor equipment and materials industry. Eligible candidates are nominated by their industry peers and selected after due diligence by the SEMI Sales and Marketing Excellence Award Committee.

Previous recipients of this award include: Luc Van den hove (2018), Toshio Maruyama (2017), Jim Bowen (2016), Terry (Tetsuro) Higashi (2015), Winfried Kaiser (2014), Joung Cho (JC) Kim (2013), G. Dan Hutcheson (2012), Franz Janker (2011), Martin van den Brink (2010), Peter Hanley (2009), Richard Hong (2008), Richard E. Dyck (2007), Aubrey (Bill) C. Tobey (2006), Archie Hwang (2005), Edward Braun (2004), Shigeru (Steve) Nakayama (2003), Jerry Hutcheson and Ed Segal (2002), Jim Healy and Barry Rapozo (2001), and Art Zafiropoulo (2000).

About SEMI

SEMI® connects more than 2,100 member companies and 1.3 million professionals worldwide to advance the technology and business of electronics design and manufacturing. SEMI members are responsible for the innovations in materials, design, equipment, software, devices, and services that enable smarter, faster, more powerful, and more affordable electronic products. Electronic System Design Alliance (ESD Alliance), FlexTech, the Fab Owners Alliance (FOA) and the MEMS & Sensors Industry Group (MSIG) are SEMI Strategic Association Partners, defined communities within SEMI focused on specific technologies.

Visit to learn more, contact one of our worldwide offices, and connect with SEMI on LinkedIn and Twitter.

Association Contact

Michael Hall

SEMIPhone: 1.408.943.7988


Contact details

Related topics

Receive exclusive news

Are you a journalist or do you work for a publication?
Sign up and request access to exclusive news.

Request access

Receive JSR Micro news on your RSS reader.

Or subscribe through Atom URL manually